top of page

Club Weekly Tournament
Each Wednesday evening we play at:
Hudson Grille Sandy Springs
6317 Roswell Rd. NE
Sandy Springs, GA 30328

Registration begins 5:45 p.m.
Draw 6:20 p.m.
Tournament begins 6:30 p.m.

Directions to Hudson Grille.

Club Monthly Tournament
We also play on the last Saturday of each month at various locations. Members will receive an email to let them know where the tournament will be played once it is determined.

Recent Saturday locations have included:

  • Napoli Pizzeria - 276 Hammond Dr., Sandy Springs, GA 30328

  • North River Tavern - 8879 Roswell Rd., Sandy Springs, GA 30350

  • Gilly's Sports Bar - 4343 Dunwoody Park, Atlanta, GA 30338

  • Delkwood Grill - 2769 Delk Rd. SE, Marietta, GA 30067

Registration begins 12:45 p.m.
Draw 1:20 p.m.
Tournament begins 1:30 p.m.

Tournament Rules

The Atlanta Northside Backgammon Club is an affiliated club of the United States Backgammon Federation and uses USBGF Official Rules for tournament play, although local rules in some areas supersede USBGF rules. Matches use a 2-minute per point timebank with a 10-second delay. New players unfamiliar with the the clock use a modified clock with a 3-minute per point timebank with a 10-second delay. The club also adheres to the USBGF Standards of Ethical Practice.

Late Arrivals

If running late, a player may call or text during the time registration is open (Wed 5:45 p.m. to 6:20 p.m.; Sat 12:45 p.m. to 1:20 p.m.) to be included in the draw. However, if not present when matches begin, a late player will be assessed penalty points and a time deduction on a 5-1-1 basis (for every 5 minutes late, 1 point is awarded to the opponent and 1 minute is deducted from the player's timebank).

Holidays
Please note that because some Wednesdays and Saturdays fall on holidays, tournaments may be rescheduled. Watch this site for notices of changes in times, dates or locations. If you are on the club mailing list, you will also receive notices of changes by email.

December 2023 Schedule

Wed, Dec 6 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

Wed, Dec 13 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

Sat, Dec 16 - ANBC Freeroll, Napoli Pizzeria (2 weeks early due to New Years)

Wed, Dec 20 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

Wed, Dec 27 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

January 2024 Schedule

Wed, Jan 3 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

Wed, Jan 10 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

Sat, Jan 13 - Northside Shakedown, Hudson Grille (invitational event)

Wed, Jan 17 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

Wed, Jan 24 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

Sat, Jan 27 - Club Monthly, Napoli Pizzeria

Wed, Jan 31 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

February 2024 Schedule

Wed, Feb 7 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

Wed, Feb 14 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

Wed, Feb 21 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

Sat, Feb 24 - Club Monthly, Napoli Pizzeria

Wed, Feb 28 - Club Weekly, Hudson Grille

bottom of page